Dasmariñas City Teachers’ Chorale bags First TEA Governance Choir Tilt Championship


Amongst 10 participating choral groups from the five provincial clusters of Region 4A (CALABARZON), representative of Cavite cluster, the Dasmariñas City Teachers’ Chorale capped the title of the very first TEA Governance Chorale Competition held at Ugnayang La Salle, De La Salle University – Dasmariñas during the 2018 TEA Governance Forum, February 20, 2018.

Gracing the stage with the gift of singing and artistry, different choral groups from the provincial clusters of CALABARZON, each performed two songs where they were judged according to 30% personal choice of song, and 70% from their own acapella rendition of the TEA Governance song “Pamumuno” by Cesar L. Nebril Jr., who himself performed the song at the event with Gladys delos Reyes.

Participating choral groups were chosen through provincial eliminations for each cluster where only two groups from each province shall represent the cluster during today’s competition.

The said competition was judged by the field’s bests: Mr. Eugenio Moreno, a musician and entrepreneur from the UP College of Music, member of the UP Jazz Ensemble, and played with the orchestra of the musical plays “Cats” and “Peter Pan”; Mr. Jude Bautista Roldan, a multi-faceted musician, member of Hail Mary Queen Choir who graduated at the UST Conservatory of Music, a composer, arranger, and conducts choral workshops; and, Mr. Angelito Ayran Jr., finished his degree at UST Conservatory of Music, a member of UST Coro Tomasino during his time, Philippine Chamber Choir, and the conducting professor of MIT Cardinal Chamber Singers, Malayan Colleges Laguna Chamber Choir and San Pascual Baylon Chamber Singers.

Moreover, the choral groups had been given the chance to prepare their own rendition of the main contest piece “Pamumuno” with the guidelines that there will be no choreography and has to be sang in acapella. Meanwhile, for the second song — a song of their own choice, the groups were allowed to sing with either guitar or piano accompaniment and choreography.


Furthermore, the Dasmariñas City as the winning division with 85.69% total score, received PhP 25, 000.00 and a trophy as their price, followed by the Division of Lucena City with 84.88% score in second place and received PhP 20, 000.00 and a trophy; and in third place with PhP 15, 000.00 and a trophy, was the Division of Cavite City garnering 84.75% score. Awards from the Regional Association of Schools Division Superintendent were handed in by Regional Director, Dr. Diosdado San Antonio after the announcement of winners by the Assistant Regional Director Francis Cesar B. Bringas who kept the excitement in the venue through his wits.

On the other hand, other participating divisions such as Batangas City, Batangas Province, Rizal Province, Quezon Province, Antipolo City, Calamba City, and Laguna Province, all received PhP 10, 000.00 as consolation prize.

While waiting for the final announcement, Dr. Manuela L. Tolentino, SDS of Dasmariñas City, delivered the message from USec Analyn Sevilla, Office of the Undersecretary for Finance, Budget and Performance Monitoring.

Another highlight of the afternoon program was the yell participated by all divisions chanting “One Team, One goal, for DepEd 4A.”

Team Docu: Michael Andrew Arevalo, Lovely Ballesteros, Alpha Pascual, Ninna Marie Manahan