On May 11, 2020, the Inter-Agency Task Force (IATF) for the Management of Emerging Infectious Diseases issued Resolution No. 35, s. 2020 approving the classification of Provinces, High Urbanized Cities (HUCs), and Independent Component Cities (ICCs) based on risk level. Accordingly, the Province of Cavite was classified as a moderate-risk province and placed under General Community Quarantine (GCQ) beginning May 16, 2020 until May 31, 2020 without prejudice to the declaration of localized Enhanced Community Quarantine (ECQ) in critical areas.

Based on the Omnibus Guidelines on the Implementation of Community Quarantine in the Philippines issued by the IATF on May 01, 2020, General Community Quarantine or GCQ refers to the implementation of temporary measures limiting movement and transportation, regulation of operating industries, and presence of uniformed personnel to enforce community quarantine protocols. Hence, the areas placed under GCQ are required to observed the protocols enumerated in Section 3 of the said guidelines including operation of work in government offices either in full operational capacity or under such alternative work arrangements as agencies may deem proper in accordance with the relevant rules and regulations issued by the Civil Service Commission.

On May 07, 2020, the Civil Service Commission (CSC) issued Memorandum Circular No. 10, s. 2020 providing for the Revised Interim Guidelines for Alternative Work Arrangements and Support Mechanisms for Workers in the Government During the Period of State of National Emergency Due to COVID-19 Pandemic. In the said circular, the different alternative work arrangements to be adopted in ECQ and GCQ declared areas were defined along with its parameters.

0997 – Division Order No. 04, s. 2020